< img height="1" width="1" style="display:none;" alt="" src="https://px.ads.linkedin.com/collect/?pid=3131724&fmt=gif" />

集群状态监控

KubeSphere 支持对集群 CPU、内存、网络和磁盘等资源的相关指标进行监控。在集群状态页面,您可以查看历史监控数据并根据不同资源的使用率对节点进行排序。

准备工作

您需要一个被授予集群管理权限的用户。例如,您可以直接用 admin 用户登录控制台,或创建一个具有集群管理权限的角色然后将此角色授予一个用户。

集群状态监控

  1. 点击左上角的平台管理,然后选择集群管理

  2. 如果您已启用了多集群功能并已导入了成员集群,您可以选择一个特定集群以查看其应用程序资源。如果尚未启用该功能,请直接进行下一步。

  3. 在左侧导航栏选择监控告警下的集群状态以查看集群状态概览,包括集群节点状态组件状态集群资源用量etcd 监控服务组件监控

集群节点状态

  1. 集群节点状态显示在线节点和所有节点的数量。您可以点击节点在线状态跳转到集群节点页面以查看所有节点的实时资源使用情况。

  2. 集群节点页面,点击节点名称可打开运行状态页面查看资源用量已分配资源健康状态

  3. 点击监控选项卡,可以查看节点在特定时间范围内的各种运行指标,包括 CPU 用量CPU 平均负载内存用量磁盘用量Inode 用量IOPS磁盘吞吐网络带宽

    提示

    您可以在右上角的下拉列表中自定义时间范围查看历史数据。

组件状态

KubeSphere 监控集群中各种服务组件的健康状态。当关键组件发生故障时,系统可能会变得不可用。KubeSphere 的监控机制确保平台可以在组件出现故障时将所有问题通知租户,以便快速定位问题并采取相应的措施。

  1. 集群状态页面,点击组件状态区域的组件可查看其状态。

  2. 系统组件页面列出了所有的组件。标记为绿色的组件是正常运行的组件,标记为橙色的组件存在问题,需要特别关注。

提示

标记为橙色的组件可能会由于各种原因在一段时间后变为绿色,例如重试拉取镜像或重新创建实例。您可以点击一个组件查看其服务详情。

集群资源用量

集群资源用量显示集群中所有节点的 CPU 用量内存用量磁盘用量容器组数量。您可以点击左侧的饼图切换指标。右侧的曲线图显示一段时间内指示的变化趋势。

物理资源监控

您可以利用物理资源监控页面提供的数据更好地掌控物理资源状态,并建立正常资源和集群性能的标准。KubeSphere 允许用户查看最近 7 天的集群监控数据,包括 CPU 用量内存用量CPU 平均负载(1 分钟/5 分钟/15 分钟)磁盘用量Inode 用量磁盘吞吐(读写)IOPS(读写)网络带宽容器组状态。您可以在 KubeSphere 中自定义时间范围和时间间隔以查看物理资源的历史监控数据。以下简要介绍每个监控指标。

CPU 用量

CPU 用量显示一段时间内 CPU 资源的用量。如果某一时间段的 CPU 用量急剧上升,您首先需要定位占用 CPU 资源最多的进程。例如,Java 应用程序代码中的内存泄漏或无限循环可能会导致 CPU 用量急剧上升。

内存用量

内存是机器上的重要组件之一,是与 CPU 通信的桥梁。因此,内存对机器的性能有很大影响。当程序运行时,数据加载、线程并发和 I/O 缓冲都依赖于内存。可用内存的大小决定了程序能否正常运行以及如何运行。内存使用情况反映了集群内存资源的整体用量,显示为特定时刻内存占用的百分比。

CPU 平均负载

CPU 平均负载是单位时间内系统中处于可运行状态和非中断状态的平均进程数(亦即活动进程的平均数量)。CPU 平均负载和 CPU 利用率之间没有直接关系。理想情况下,平均负载应该等于 CPU 的数量。因此,在查看平均负载时,需要考虑 CPU 的数量。只有当平均负载大于 CPU 数量时,系统才会超载。

KubeSphere 为用户提供了 1 分钟、5 分钟和 15 分钟三种不同的平均负载。通常情况下,建议您比较这三种数据以全面了解平均负载情况。

  • 如果在一定时间范围内 1 分钟、5 分钟和 15 分钟的曲线相似,则表明集群的 CPU 负载相对稳定。
  • 如果某一时间范围或某一特定时间点 1 分钟的数值远大于 15 分钟的数值,则表明最近 1 分钟的负载在增加,需要继续观察。一旦 1 分钟的数值超过 CPU 数量,系统可能出现超载,您需要进一步分析问题的根源。
  • 如果某一时间范围或某一特定时间点 1 分钟的数值远小于 15 分钟的数值,则表明系统在最近 1 分钟内负载在降低,在前 15 分钟内出现了较高的负载。

磁盘用量

KubeSphere 的工作负载(例如有状态副本集守护进程集)都依赖于持久卷。某些组件和服务也需要持久卷。这种后端存储依赖于磁盘,例如块存储或网络共享存储。因此,实时的磁盘用量监控环境对确保数据的高可靠性尤为重要。

在 Linux 系统的日常管理中,平台管理员可能会遇到磁盘空间不足导致数据丢失甚至系统崩溃的情况。作为集群管理的重要组成部分,平台管理员需要密切关注系统的磁盘使用情况,并确保文件系统不会被用尽或滥用。通过监控磁盘使用的历史数据,您可以评估特定时间范围内磁盘的使用情况。在磁盘用量较高的情况下,您可以通过清理不必要的镜像或容器来释放磁盘空间。

Inode 用量

每个文件都有一个 inode,用于存储文件的创建者和创建日期等元信息。inode 也会占用磁盘空间,众多的小缓存文件很容易导致 inode 资源耗尽。此外,在 inode 已用完但磁盘未满的情况下,也无法在磁盘上创建新文件。

在 KubeSphere 中,对 inode 使用率的监控可以帮助您清楚地了解集群 inode 的使用率,从而提前检测到此类情况。该机制提示用户及时清理临时文件,防止集群因 inode 耗尽而无法工作。

磁盘吞吐

磁盘吞吐和 IOPS 监控是磁盘监控不可或缺的一部分,可帮助集群管理员调整数据布局和其他管理活动以优化集群整体性能。磁盘吞吐量是指磁盘传输数据流(包括读写数据)的速度,单位为 MB/s。当传输大块非连续数据时,该指标具有重要的参考意义。

IOPS

IOPS 表示每秒读写操作数。具体来说,磁盘的 IOPS 是每秒连续读写的总和。当传输小块非连续数据时,该指示器具有重要的参考意义。

网络带宽

网络带宽是网卡每秒接收或发送数据的能力,单位为 Mbps。

容器组状态

容器组状态显示不同状态的容器组的总数,包括运行中已完成异常状态。标记为已完成的容器组通常为任务(Job)或定时任务(CronJob)。标记为异常的容器组需要特别注意。

etcd 监控

etcd 监控可以帮助您更好地利用 etcd,特别用于是定位性能问题。etcd 服务提供了原生的指标接口。KubeSphere 监控系统提供了高度图形化和响应性强的仪表板,用于显示原生数据。

指标描述
服务状态 - 是否有 Leader 表示成员是否有 Leader。如果成员没有 Leader,则成员完全不可用。如果集群中的所有成员都没有任何 Leader,则整个集群完全不可用。
1 小时内 Leader 变更次数表示集群成员观察到的 1 小时内 Leader 变更总次数。频繁变更 Leader 将显著影响 etcd 性能,同时这还表明 Leader 可能由于网络连接问题或 etcd 集群负载过高而不稳定。
库大小 etcd 的底层数据库大小,单位为 MiB。图表中显示的是 etcd 的每个成员数据库的平均大小。 
客户端流量包括发送到 gRPC 客户端的总流量和从 gRPC 客户端接收的总流量。有关该指标的更多信息,请参阅 etcd Network。 
gRPC 流式消息服务器端的 gRPC 流消息接收速率和发送速率,反映集群内是否正在进行大规模的数据读写操作。有关该指标的更多信息,请参阅 go-grpc-prometheus
WAL 日志同步时间WAL 调用 fsync 的延迟。在应用日志条目之前,etcd 会在持久化日志条目到磁盘时调用 wal_fsync。有关该指标的更多信息,请参阅 etcd Disk。 
库同步时间后端调用提交延迟的分布。当 etcd 将其最新的增量快照提交到磁盘时,会调用 backend_commit。需要注意的是,磁盘操作延迟较大(WAL 日志同步时间或库同步时间较长)通常表示磁盘存在问题,这可能会导致请求延迟过高或集群不稳定。有关该指标的详细信息,请参阅 etcd Disk。 
Raft 提议提议提交速率记录提交的协商一致提议的速率。如果集群运行状况良好,则该指标应随着时间的推移而增加。etcd 集群的几个健康成员可以同时具有不同的一般提议。单个成员与其 Leader 之间的持续较大滞后表示该成员缓慢或不健康。
提议应用速率记录协商一致提议的总应用率。etcd 服务器异步地应用每个提交的提议。提议提交速率提议应用速率的差异应该很小(即使在高负载下也只有几千)。如果它们之间的差异持续增大,则表明 etcd 服务器过载。当使用大范围查询或大量 txn 操作等大规模查询时,可能会出现这种情况。
提议失败速率记录提议失败的总速率。这通常与两个问题有关:与 Leader 选举相关的临时失败或由于集群成员数目达不到规定数目而导致的长时间停机。
排队提议数记录当前待处理提议的数量。待处理提议的增加表明客户端负载较高或成员无法提交提议。
目前,仪表板上显示的数据是 etcd 成员的平均数值。有关这些指标的详细信息,请参阅 etcd Server。 

API Server 监控

API Server 是 Kubernetes 集群中所有组件交互的中枢。下表列出了 API Server 的主要监控指标。

指标描述
请求延迟资源请求响应延迟,单位为毫秒。该指标按照 HTTP 请求方法进行分类。
每秒请求次数kube-apiserver 每秒接受的请求数。

调度器监控

调度器监控新建容器组的 Kubernetes API,并决定这些新容器组运行在哪些节点上。调度器根据收集资源的可用性和容器组的资源需求等数据进行决策。监控调度延迟的数据可确保您及时了解调度器的任何延迟。

指标描述
调度次数包括调度成功、错误和失败的次数。
调度频率包括调度成功、错误和失败的频率。
调度延迟端到端调度延迟,即调度算法延迟和绑定延迟之和。

节点用量排行

您可以按 CPU 用量CPU 平均负载内存用量本地存储用量Inode 用量容器组用量等指标对节点进行升序和降序排序。您可以利用这一功能快速发现潜在问题和节点资源不足的情况。

通过邮件接收 KubeSphere 最新的技术博客与产品更新的通知


感谢您的反馈。如果您有关于如何使用 KubeSphere 的具体问题,请在 Slack 上提问。如果您想报告问题或提出改进建议,请在 GitHub 存储库中打开问题。

Cluster Administration

Cluster Status Monitoring

KubeSphere provides monitoring of related metrics such as CPU, memory, network, and disk of the cluster. You can also review historical monitoring data and sort nodes by different indicators based on their usage in Cluster Status Monitoring.

Prerequisites

You need an account granted a role including the authorization of Clusters Management. For example, you can log in the console as admin directly or create a new role with the authorization and assign it to an account.

Cluster Status Monitoring

  1. Click Platform in the top left corner and select Clusters Management.

Platform

  1. If you have enabled the multi-cluster feature with member clusters imported, you can select a specific cluster to view its application resources. If you have not enabled the feature, refer to the next step directly.

Clusters Management

  1. Choose Cluster Status under Monitoring & Alerting to see the overview of cluster status monitoring, including Cluster Node Status, Components Status, Cluster Resources Usage, ETCD Monitoring, and Service Component Monitoring, as shown in the following figure.

Cluster Status Monitoring

Cluster Node Status

  1. Cluster Node Status displays the status of all nodes, separately marking the active ones. You can go to the Cluster Nodes page shown below to view the real-time resource usage of all nodes by clicking Node Online Status.

Cluster Nodes

  1. In Cluster Nodes, click the node name to view usage details in Running Status, including the information of CPU, Memory, Pod, Local Storage in the current node, and its health status.

Running Status

  1. Click the tab Monitoring to view how the node is functioning during a certain period based on different metrics, including CPU Utilization, CPU Load Average, Memory Utilization, Disk Utilization, inode Utilization, IOPS, DISK Throughput, and Network Bandwidth, as shown in the following figure.

Monitoring

Tip

You can customize the time range from the drop-down list in the top right corner to view historical data.

Component Status

KubeSphere monitors the health status of various service components in the cluster. When a key component malfunctions, the system may become unavailable. The monitoring mechanism of KubeSphere ensures the platform can notify tenants of any occurring issues in case of a component failure, so that they can quickly locate the problem and take corresponding action.

  1. On the Cluster Status Monitoring page, click components (the part in the green box below) under Components Status to view the status of service components.

component-monitoring

  1. You can see all the components are listed in this part. Components marked in green are those functioning normally while those marked in orange require special attention as it signals potential issues.

Service Components Status

Tip

Components marked in orange may turn to green after a period of time, the reasons of which may be different, such as image pulling retries or pod recreations. You can click the component to see its service details.

Cluster Resources Usage

Cluster Resources Usage displays the information including CPU Utilization, Memory Utilization, Disk Utilization, and Pod Quantity Trend of all nodes in the cluster. Click the pie chart on the left to switch indicators, which shows the trend during a period in a line chart on the right.

Cluster Resources Usage

Physical Resources Monitoring

Monitoring data in Physical Resources Monitoring help users better observe their physical resources and establish normal standards for resource and cluster performance. KubeSphere allows users to view cluster monitoring data within the last 7 days, including CPU Utilization, Memory Utilization, CPU Load Average (1 minute/5 minutes/15 minutes), inode Utilization, Disk Throughput (read/write), IOPS (read/write), Network Bandwidth, and Pod Status. You can customize the time range and time interval to view historical monitoring data of physical resources in KubeSphere. The following sections briefly introduce each monitoring indicator.

Physical Resources Monitoring

CPU Utilization

CPU utilization shows how CPU resources are used in a period. If you notice that the CPU usage of the platform during a certain period soars, you must first locate the process that is occupying CPU resources the most. For example, for Java applications, you may expect a CPU usage spike in the case of memory leaks or infinite loops in the code.

CPU Utilization

Memory Utilization

Memory is one of the important components on a machine, serving as a bridge for communications with the CPU. Therefore, the performance of memory has a great impact on the machine. Data loading, thread concurrency and I/O buffering are all dependent on memory when a program is running. The size of available memory determines whether the program can run normally and how it is functioning. Memory utilization reflects how memory resources are used within a cluster as a whole, displayed as a percentage of available memory in use at a given moment.

Memory Utilization

CPU Load Average

CPU load average is the average number of processes in the system in a runnable state and an uninterruptible state per unit time. Namely, it is the average number of active processes. Note that there is no direct relation between the CPU load average and the CPU utilization. Ideally, the load average should be equal to the number of CPUs. Therefore, you need to consider the number of CPUs when you look into the load average. A system is overloaded only when the load average is greater than the number of CPUs.

KubeSphere provides users with three different time periods to view the load average: 1 minute, 5 minutes and 15 minutes. Normally, it is recommended that you review all of them to gain a comprehensive understanding of load averages:

  • If the curves of 1 minute / 5 minutes / 15 minutes are similar within a certain period, it indicates that the CPU load of the cluster is relatively stable.
  • If the value of 1 minute in a certain period, or at a specific time point is much greater than that of 15 minutes, it means that the load in the last 1 minute is increasing, and you need to keep observing. Once the value of 1 minute exceeds the number of CPUs, it may mean that the system is overloaded. You need to further analyze the source of the problem.
  • Conversely, if the value of 1 minute in a certain period, or at a specific time point is much less than that of 15 minutes, it means that the load of the system is decreasing in the last 1 minute, and a high load has been generated in the previous 15 minutes.

CPU Load Average

Disk Usage

KubeSphere workloads such as StatefulSets and DaemonSets all rely on persistent volumes. Some components and services also require a persistent volume. Such backend storage relies on disks, such as block storage or network shared storage. In this connection, providing a real-time monitoring environment for disk usage is an important part of maintaining the high reliability of data.

In the daily management of the Linux system, platform administrators may encounter data loss or even system crashes due to insufficient disk space. As an essential part of cluster management, they need to pay close attention to the disk usage of the system and ensure that the file system is not filling up or abused. By monitoring the historical data of disk usage, you can evaluate how disks are used during a given period of time. In the case of high disk usage, you can free up disk space by cleaning up unnecessary images or containers.

Disk Usage

inode Utilization

Each file must have an inode, which is used to store the file’s meta-information, such as the file’s creator and creation date. The inode will also consume hard disk space, and many small cache files can easily lead to the exhaustion of inode resources. Also, the inode may be used up, but the hard disk is not full. In this case, new files cannot be created on the hard disk.

In KubeSphere, the monitoring of inode utilization can help you detect such situations in advance, as you can have a clear view of cluster inode usage. The mechanism prompts users to clean up temporary files in time, preventing the cluster from being unable to work due to inode exhaustion.

inode Utilization

Disk Throughput

The monitoring of disk throughput and IOPS is an indispensable part of disk monitoring, which is convenient for cluster administrators to adjust data layout and other management activities to optimize the overall performance of the cluster. Disk throughput refers to the speed of the disk transmission data stream (shown in MB/s), and the transmission data are the sum of data reading and writing. When large blocks of discontinuous data are being transmitted, this indicator is of great importance for reference. Disk Throughput

IOPS

IOPS (Input/Output Operations Per Second) represents a performance measurement of the number of read and write operations per second. Specifically, the IOPS of a disk is the sum of the number of continuous reads and writes per second. This indicator is of great significance for reference when small blocks of discontinuous data are being transmitted.

IOPS

Network Bandwidth

The network bandwidth is the ability of the network card to receive or send data per second, shown in Mbps (megabits per second).

Network Bandwidth

Pod Status

Pod status displays the total number of pods in different states, including Running, Completed and Warning. The pod tagged Completed usually refers to a Job or a CronJob. The number of pods marked Warning, which means an abnormal state, requires special attention.

Pod Status

ETCD Monitoring

ETCD monitoring helps you to make better use of ETCD, especially to locate performance problems. The ETCD service provides metrics interfaces natively, and the KubeSphere monitoring system features a highly graphic and responsive dashboard to display its native data.

IndicatorsDescription
ETCD Nodes- Is there a Leader indicates whether the member has a Leader. If a member does not have a Leader, it is completely unavailable. If all members in the cluster do not have any Leader, the entire cluster is completely unavailable.
- Leader change times refers to the number of Leader changes seen by members of the cluster since the beginning. Frequent Leader changes will significantly affect the performance of ETCD. It also shows that the Leader is unstable, possibly due to network connection issues or excessive loads hitting the ETCD cluster.
DB SizeThe size of the underlying database (in MiB) of ETCD. The current graph shows the average size of each member database of ETCD.
Client TrafficIt includes the total traffic sent to the grpc client and the total traffic received from the grpc client. For more information about the indicator, see etcd Network.
gRPC Stream MessagesThe gRPC streaming message receiving rate and sending rate on the server side, which reflects whether large-scale data read and write operations are happening in the cluster. For more information about the indicator, see go-grpc-prometheus.
WAL FsyncThe latency of WAL calling fsync. A wal_fsync is called when etcd persists its log entries to disk before applying them. For more information about the indicator, see etcd Disk.
DB FsyncThe submission delay distribution of the backend calls. When ETCD submits its most recent incremental snapshot to disk, a backend_commit will be called. Note that high latency of disk operations (long WAL log synchronization time or library synchronization time) usually indicates disk problems, which may cause high request latency or make the cluster unstable. For more information about the indicator, see etcd Disk.
Raft Proposals- Proposal Commit Rate records the rate of consensus proposals committed. If the cluster is healthy, this indicator should increase over time. Several healthy members of an ETCD cluster may have different general proposals at the same time. A continuous large lag between a single member and its leader indicates that the member is slow or unhealthy.
- Proposal Apply Rate records the total rate of consensus proposals applied. The ETCD server applies each committed proposal asynchronously. The difference between the Proposal Commit Rate and the Proposal Apply Rate should usually be small (only a few thousands even under high loads). If the difference between them continues to rise, it indicates that the ETCD server is overloaded. This can happen when using large-scale queries such as heavy range queries or large txn operations.
- Proposal Failure Rate records the total rate of failed proposals, usually related to two issues: temporary failures related to leader election or longer downtime due to a loss of quorum in the cluster.
- Proposal Pending Total records the current number of pending proposals. An increase in pending proposals indicates high client loads or members unable to submit proposals.
Currently, the data displayed on the dashboard is the average size of ETCD members. For more information about these indicators, see etcd Server.

ETCD Monitoring

APIServer Monitoring

API Server is the hub for the interaction of all components in a Kubernetes cluster. The following table lists the main indicators monitored for the APIServer.

IndicatorsDescription
Request LatencyClassified by HTTP request methods, the latency of resource request response in milliseconds.
Request Per SecondThe number of requests accepted by kube-apiserver per second.

APIServer Monitoring

Scheduler Monitoring

Scheduler monitors the Kubernetes API of newly created pods and determines which nodes these new pods run on. It makes this decision based on available data, including the availability of collected resources and the resource requirements of the Pod. Monitoring data for scheduling delays ensures that you can see any delays facing the scheduler.

IndicatorsDescription
Attempt FrequencyInclude the number of scheduling successes, errors, and failures.
Attempt RateInclude the scheduling rate of successes, errors, and failures.
Scheduling latencyEnd-to-end scheduling delay, which is the sum of scheduling algorithm delay and binding delay

Scheduler Monitoring

Node Usage Ranking

You can sort nodes in ascending and descending order by indicators such as CPU, Load Average, Memory, Local Storage, inode Utilization, and Pod Utilization. This enables administrators to quickly find potential problems or identify a node’s insufficient resources.

Node Usage Ranking