< img height="1" width="1" style="display:none;" alt="" src="https://px.ads.linkedin.com/collect/?pid=3131724&fmt=gif" />

Projects and Multi-cluster Projects

A project in KubeSphere is a Kubernetes namespace, which is used to organize resources into non-overlapping groups. It represents a logical partitioning capability as it divides cluster resources between multiple tenants.

A multi-cluster project runs across clusters, empowering users to achieve high availability and isolate occurring issues to a certain cluster while not affecting your business. For more information, see Multi-cluster Management.

This tutorial demonstrates how to manage projects and multi-cluster projects.

Prerequisites

Projects

Create a project

  1. Go to the Projects page of a workspace and click Create on the Projects tab.

    Note

    • You can change the cluster where the project will be created on the Cluster drop-down list. The list is only visible after you enable the multi-cluster feature.
    • If you cannot see the Create button, it means no cluster is available to use for your workspace. You need to contact the platform administrator or cluster administrator so that workspace resources can be created in the cluster. To assign a cluster to a workspace, the platform administrator or cluster administrator needs to edit Cluster Visibility on the Cluster Management page.
  2. In the Create Project window that appears, enter a project name and add an alias or description if necessary. Under Cluster Settings, select the cluster where the project will be created (this option does not appear if the multi-cluster feature is not enabled), and click OK.

  3. A project created will display in the list as shown below. You can click the project name to go to its Overview page.

    project-list

Edit a project

  1. Go to your project, navigate to Basic Information under Project Settings and click Manage Project on the right.

  2. Choose Edit Information from the drop-down menu.

    project-basic-information

    Note

    The project name cannot be edited. If you want to change other information, see relevant tutorials in the documentation.
  3. To delete a project, choose Delete Project from the drop-down menu. In the dialog that appears, enter the project name and click OK to confirm the deletion.

    Warning

    A project cannot be recovered once deleted and resources in the project will be removed.

Multi-cluster Projects

Create a multi-cluster project

  1. Go to the Projects page of a workspace, click the Multi-cluster Projects tab and click Create.

    Note

    • If you cannot see the Create button, it means no cluster is available to use for your workspace. You need to contact the platform administrator or cluster administrator so that workspace resources can be created in the cluster. To assign a cluster to a workspace, the platform administrator or cluster administrator needs to edit Cluster Visibility on the Cluster Management page.
    • Make sure at least two clusters are assigned to your workspace.
  2. In the Create Multi-cluster Project window that appears, enter a project name and add an alias or description if necessary. Under Cluster Settings, select multiple clusters for your project by clicking Add Cluster, and click OK.

  3. A multi-cluster project created will display in the list as shown below. You can click the project name to go to its Overview page.

    multi-cluster-list

Edit a multi-cluster project

  1. Go to your multi-cluster project, navigate to Basic Information under Project Settings and click Manage Project on the right.

  2. Choose Edit Information from the drop-down menu.

    multi-cluster-basic-information

    Note

    The project name cannot be edited. If you want to change other information, see relevant tutorials in the documentation.
  3. To delete a multi-cluster project, choose Delete Project from the drop-down menu. In the dialog that appears, enter the project name and click OK to confirm the deletion.

    Warning

    A multi-cluster project cannot be recovered once deleted and resources in the project will be removed.